Pierre Bourque named 2020 Nancy Mead Award Recipient

The CSEE&T Steering Committee and past Nancy Mead Award Winners are delighted to announce that Dr. Pierre Bourque has been named the 2020 Nancy Mead Award Recipient.

Pierre Bourque is a faculty member since 2000 in the Department of Software and IT Engineering of the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) of the Université du Québec. He is presently on sabbatical (2019-2020) in industry at CGI after being Dean of Studies at ÉTS (2013-2019). He is also lead co-editor of the Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge (SWEBOK) V3 published in 2014 and was co-editor of the 2001 and 2004 versions. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Ulster (Northern Ireland). Prior to his appointment at ÉTS, he was involved in software engineering, data modeling, and database design at the National Bank of Canada and the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM).

The award is named in honor of Nancy Mead, the founding CSEE&T Steering Committee Chair. After a two year hiatus in which no awards were given, Pierre joins a very select group of colleagues who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to software engineering education and training, as well as to the related area of software engineering professionalism. 

As a recipient of the Nancy Mead award, Pierre will give a keynote presentation and formally receive the award at the 32nd IEEE International Conference on Software Engineering Education & Training (CSEE&T 2020) to be held July 29-31 in Munich, Germany.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.