Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Softwaretechnik
Chair for Applied Software Engineering

Introduction to Software Engineering

Professor: Prof. Bernd Brügge, Ph.D.
Teaching assistants: Korbinian Herrmann, Florian Schneider

General Information

 

  • Credits: 5 ECTS
  • Intended audience: CSE master students
  • Prerequisites:
    • Introduction to Programming (CSE)
    • Fundamental Algorithms (CSE)
  • Time: The course takes place in a block course at end of july and start of october. For exact dates look at the schedule below.
  • Location: Lectures and exercises in 01.07.14
  • Obligatory mid-term exam: Friday, 1 August 2008 from 17:00 to 19:00 in MI 00.07.014

 

Exams and Grading Criteria

Exercise 20 %, graded by homework: every sheet has a 10 point homework.
Mid-term 30 %
End-Term 50%

 

Schedule

The schedule is available as iCalendar

DateTimeSubject
Monday, 21.07.2008 9:30 -12:30 Introduction to Software Engineering
    Modeling With UML
  15:00 -17:00 Excercise 1
Tuesday, 22.07.2008 9:30 -12:30 Requirements Elicitation
    System Modeling I: Functional Modeling
  15:00 -17:00 Excercise 2
Wednesday, 23.07.2008 9:30 - 12:30 Requirements Analysis
    System Modeling II: Object Diagrams
    System Modeling III: Dynamic Model Diagrams
  15:00 -17:00 Excercise 3
Thursday, 24.07.2008 9:30 -12:30 Design Patterns 1
  15:00 - 17:00 Exercise 4
Friday, 25.07.2008 9:30 -12:30 Design Patterns 2
Monday, 28.07.2008 9:30 - 12:30 Object Design:
    Reuse
    Interface Specification
  15:00 - 17:00 Exercise 5
Friday, 01.08.2008 17:00 - 19:00 Mid-term exam
     
  break  
     
Monday, 06.10.2008 9:30 - 12:30 System Design
    Design Goals
    Subsystem Decomposition
    Addressing Design Goals
  15:00 - 17:00 Exercise 6
Tuesday, 07.10.2008 9:30 - 12:30 Testing
  15:00 - 17:00 Exercise 7
Wednesday, 08.10.2008 9:30 - 12:30 Project organization and management
  15:00 - 17:00 Exercise 8
Monday, 13.10.2008 9:30 - 12:30 Lifecycle models
  15:00 - 17:00 Exercise 9
     
  break  
     
Monday, 27.10.2008   Final exam


Exercise Material


Professor

Bernd Bruegge Prof. Bernd Brügge, Ph.D.


Teaching assistants

Korbinian Herrmann Korbinian Herrmann Florian Schneider Florian Schneider


Literature

cover2
  • Bernd Bruegge, Allen H. Dutoit 
    Object-Oriented Software Engineering: Using UML, Patterns and Java, 2nd Edition
    Publisher: Prentice Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2003; ISBN: 0-13-047110-0