Call for Nominations – Nancy Mead Award for Excellence in Software Engineering Education

The CSEE&T Steering committee is seeking nominations for the 2020 Nancy Mead Award for Excellence in Software Engineering Education.

Please nominate someone you know who has made important contributions to software engineering education or training. See the terms of reference and the list of previous winners below. You can find the flyer using the following URL:

Each nomination should include a sketch of the accomplishments (in SE education) of the candidate, including a few paragraphs in narrative form and a list of relevant items from their CV. The name of the person submitting the nomination must also be present. Please limit nominations to three single-spaced pages. Remember to focus on education, training and professionalism accomplishments, rather than pure software engineering accomplishments.

Compose your nomination in a file (.pdf preferred, .docx accepted) and submit it using the following URL:

As has been agreed practice, the selection committee consists of the past winners plus the CSEE&T steering committee, plus Nancy Mead herself.

Deadline for nominations: October 20, 2019. The award will be presented at CSEE&T in June 2020. The recipient will be given the opportunity to deliver a keynote at CSEE&T.

Returning officers for the 2020 award will be:

  • Bastian Tenbergen, State University of New York at Oswego
  • Timothy Lethbridge, University of Ottawa, Canada

Terms of Reference

The award will be presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to software engineering education and training, as well as to the related area of software engineering professionalism. Contributions may include, but are not limited to: service to the community, papers, reports, books, tools, techniques and media for software engineering education, and outstanding practice of teaching that has been witnessed by the community at large. Contributions should have had an influence over an extended period of time at the international level. Contributions to software engineering itself (peer-reviewed research or practice) should be mentioned in a separate section of any nomination, but having made such contributions is not necessary in order to receive this award.

The award is named in honor of Nancy Mead, the founding Steering Committee Chair of the Conference on Software Engineering Education and Training.

For the initial years, the award will be selected by the Steering Committee of  CSEE&T and previous winners. Steering Committee members are not eligible.  Nominations received in any given year that are not selected as the winner that  year may be kept for further consideration in subsequent years. If a nomination  is to be considered in a subsequent year, the nominator will be offered the opportunity to update the nomination.

Past Winners

  • 2019: (no award)
  • 2018: (no conference)
  • 2017: David Garlan
  • 2016: Dick Fairley
  • 2015: Barry Boehm
  • 2014: Don Bagert
  • 2013: Dennis J Frailey
  • 2012: (no award)
  • 2011: Tom Hilburn
  • 2010: Mary Shaw